Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Waconda USD 272 LogoWaconda USD 272

Main Navigation

Top

  • Monthly USD 272 Board Meeting Zoom Link

    USD 272 Board Meetings
    (Public Access Via Zoom Until Further Notice)
    *Due to Covid-19 guidance and mandates from the National, State, and County levels,
    USD 272 will conduct its Board Meetings virtually until further notice.


    The public can access the board meetings to view and/or hear the meetings take place via the Zoom link below. The Board meetings are normally the 2nd Monday of each month at 6 pm, and the link will be live by 5:50 pm on those nights.


    USD 272 Board Meeting Zoom Link
    Meeting ID:
    607 262 096
    Computer Password: 6b3Ctk
    Phone Password: 412741

    Link: https://zoom.us/j/607262096?pwd=elJ6dkNUY1hiK1d6bWlYSUZlM2Iwdz09

    Upcoming Board Meeting Dates & Times

    Nov 9th, 2020 @ 6 pm

    December 14th, 2020 @ 6pm

    read more
  • 2020-2021 Enrollment Documents

    Parent Information Packet

    (Enrollment Resource Documents)

     

    Lakeside Jr/Sr High School Enrollment Packet

    (Please Print, Fill Out, and Return to School)

     

    Lakeside Elementary School Enrollment Packet

    (Please Print, Fill Out, and Return To School)

    read more
  • Call or Text 785-534-6260 for Questions, Concerns, or Needs Regarding Continuous Learning Plan, Meals, Tech Help, Etc.

    If you have any questions, concerns, or needs regarding the Continuous Learning Plan for your child, meals that we have been providing across the district, tech questions, or any other needs, please call or text 785-534-6260, and a staff member from the appropriate school building or the district office will be in touch with you as soon as possible.  You can also call the school buildings or district office directly at the following numbers:

    • Waconda School District Office: 785-781-4328
    • Lakeside Jr/Sr. High School:      785-454-3332
    • Lakeside Elementary School:     785-781-4911
    read more
  • USD 272 Updates on Continuous Learning Plan for Students

     

    On March 17, 2020 Governor Laura Kelly announced all school facilities will close for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year. However, USD 272 Board of Education, administration team, and staff will work with the Kansas State Department of Education to develop alternative learning opportunities for all students and will share more information soon on what that looks like for our school district.

     

    We understand the hardship a school closure places on our families as well as the social and emotional impact it may have on our students. Our district leadership team and staff will be working on ways to continue student learning, provide breakfast and lunch for our students, and follow the guidelines that have been put in place for schools around the state.

     

    We are also working on solutions to other critical issues, such as what this means for our seniors and how this will affect next school year. We will provide updates on these issues as soon as the information is available. Due to the planning and resource organizing that needs to take place with staff next week, we do not anticipate delivering any type of instruction to students prior to Monday, March 30, 2020.  We will do our best to effectively implement a continuous learning opportunity for all students, and I will be sharing what this means for families in our district as soon as I can. Please remember that we are not able to continue school for the rest of this semester in the way we knew it. Things will look much differently, and it is important that we all work together to make the continuous learning implementation a success for our students during the remainder of this school year.

     

    We are committed to working together as a community to support one another throughout these unprecedented times, and communication will remain a top priority.  Please check our district website and facebook postings for updates and more information. Additionally, the school notification system will be used to keep parents informed of our progress and implementation of a continuous learning system to do what is best for kids during this unprecedented change.

     

    As a reminder, this school closure is in response to the current public health crisis. The focus should remain on preventing the spread of the coronavirus, or COVID-19 as it is also referred to.  If you have questions or concerns, please contact the district office, but remember that we will send out more information as soon as we can. You can also email me at jesse.janssen@usd272.org if you have questions, concerns, comments, etc.  Please check the following resources for the most up-to-date information regarding this health crisis.

     

    National Center for Disease Control (CDC) 

     

    Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) 

     

    Mitchell County Health Department

     

    Osborne County Health Department


     

    Mr. Jesse Janssen, USD 272 Superintendent

    Mrs. Jessica Scott, USD 272 Board President

    read more
  • Contact Us

    Phone Numbers and Email Addresses

    USD 272

    LAKESIDE ELEMENTARY                785-781-4911                Fax 785-781-4861
    LAKESIDE JR/SR HIGH -                  785-454-3332                Fax 785-454-3747
    TIPTON COMMUNITY SCHOOL       785-373-5355                Fax 
     DISTRICT OFFICE -                          785-781-4328                Fax 785-781-4318

    District Office

    708 Locust St.

    P.O. Box 326
    Cawker City, KS  67430
     
    Phone 785-781-4328
    Fax 785-781-4318
     
    E-MAIL LISTINGS

    Jesse Janssen, Superintendent -- jesse.janssen@usd272.org
    Sandy Hake, Board Clerk -- sandy.hake@usd272.org
    Debbie Taylor, Treasurer -- deb.taylor@usd272.org
    Charlene Beougher, School Nurse -- charlene.beougher@usd272.org
    Amanda McGuire, Parents as Teachers -- amanda.mcguire@usd272.org
    Jessica Reinert, Social Worker -- jessica.reinert@usd272.org

     

    Lakeside Elementary School
    913 7th St., P.O. Box 46
    Cawker City, KS  67430
     
    PHONE 785-781-4911
    FAX 785-781-4861
     
    E-MAIL LISTINGS
    Kayla Hamilton, Principal -- kayla.hamilton@usd272.org
    Chelsi Remus, Secretary - chelsi.remus@usd272.org
    Kathy Slipke, Secretary -- kathy.slipke@usd272.org
     
    Darci Seehafer, 3 yr Preschool - darci.seehafer@usd272.org
    Christina Gradig, Preschool - christina.gradig@usd272.org
    Kelli Hennes, Kindergarten -- kelli.hennes@usd272.org
    Ashley Harris, 1st Grade -- ashley.harris@usd272.org
    Cindy Clausen, 2nd Grade - cindy.clausen@usd272.org
    Karolee Wiles, 3rd Grade - karolee.wiles@usd272.org
    Barbara Palen, 4th Grade - barbara.palen@usd272.org
    Lynn Wacker, 5th Grade - lynn.wacker@usd272.org
     
    Christine Greif, Title I Coordinator - chrissy.greif@usd272.org
    Scott Jermark, P.E. - scott.jermark@usd272.org
    Silvia Wohlbrandt, Spanish - silvia.wohlbrandt@usd272.org
    Catrina Wilson, Elementary Art - catrina.wilson@usd272.org
    Katrina Long, Band -- katrina.long@usd272.org
     
    Stacy DeBey, Title I Para- stacy.debey@usd272.org
    Julie Schmitt, Title I Para - julie.schmitt@usd272.org
    Judy Gasper, Reading coach-- judy.gasper@usd272.org
     
    Anna Schoen, Special Education (Speech Pathologist) -- anna.schoen@usd272.org
    Stephanie Draayer, Special Education -- stephanie.draayer@usd272.org
    Penny Sumpter, Cook - penny.sumpter@usd272.org
    Ann Ludwing, Cook - ann.ludwig@usd272.org
     
     
    Marj Vowinckel, Custodian
    Carla Carl, Custodian

     


    Lakeside Jr/Sr High School
    1306 Morgan Ave.
    Downs, KS  67437
     
    PHONE 785-454-3332 
    FAX  785-454-3747
     
    E-MAIL LISTINGS
    Jeremy Long, Dean of Students - jeremy.long@usd272.org
    Connie Hardy, Secretary -- connie.hardy@usd272.org
     
    Rhonda Farwell, Jr. High Math, Science-- rhonda.farwell@usd272.org
    Judy Gasper, Language Arts/Reading -- judy.gasper@usd272.org
    Linda Groenendyk, Jr. High FACS, Soc Studies-- linda.groenendyk@usd272.org
    Cory Beougher, Social Studies, AD -- cory.beougher@usd272.org
    John Hutson, Vocational Agriculture -- john.hutson@usd272.org
    Drew Duskie, Math -- drew.duskie@usd272.org
    Katie Hendrix-Long, Art -- katie.long@usd272.org
    Cassi Walsh,FACS - cassi.walsh@usd272.org
    Caleb Howland, Science - caleb.howland@usd272.org
    Loren Nisly, Business - loren.nisly@usd272.org
    Silvia Wohlbrandt, Spanish - silvia.wohlbrandt@usd272.org
    Ginna Sharp, K-12 Counselor -- ginna.sharp@usd272.org
     
    Joanna Rhodes, Cook - joanna.rhodes@usd272.org
    Dianna Meyer, Cook - dianna.meyer@usd272.org
     
    Janet Parker, Custodian
    Carla Carl, Custodian
     
    Tipton Community School
    208 State Street
    P.O. Box 154
    Tipton, KS  67485
     
    PHONE 785-373-5355
    FAX
     
    E-MAIL LISTINGS
    Gery Hake, Principal -- glhake@wilsoncom.us
    Joya Schroeder, Secretary -- christian@wtciweb.com
     
    Julie Towner, Kindergarten-- kstowner@yahoo.co
    Stacie Hake, 1st and 2nd - stacehake_tcs@yahoo.com
    Jenny Brummer, 3rd and 4th - tcsjenny@wtciweb.com
    Shelby Craig - 5th and 6th - shelby.craig@usd272.org
    Gery Hake - 7th and 8th - glhake@wilsoncom.us
    read more
Previous FeatureNext Feature
  • RSS Icon

Waconda USD 272708 Locust StreetCawker City, KS  67430

785-781-4328Fax: 785-781-4318

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Back To Top